Wednesday, May 18, 2011

Preakness-Winning Fillies

Flocarline, a chestnut filly, won the Preakness in 1903

Nellie Morse, a bay filly, won the Preakness in 1924

Rachel Alexandra, a bay filly, won in 2009.

Five fillies have won the Preakness Stakes: Flocarline won in 1 minute 44 and 4/5 seconds in 1903; Whimiscal, another chestnut filly, won in 1906; Rhine Maiden, the first of the bay fillies, won in 1915; Nellie Morse beat the boys in 1924; and Rachel Alexandra won in 2009 with a time of 1 minute, 55.08 seconds.

No comments: